The Students Affairs Division of the University of Maiduguri has yesterday conducted an Election for the 2019/2020 Student Union Government Caretaker Committee.

This Committee will pilot the affairs of the students for the 2019/2020 Academic Session.

The Election which was headed by the Dean Students Affairs Division, Professor Maina Gimba was free and fair.

Twelve Positions (12) was contested for by twenty eight (28) aspirants from fourteen faculties of the institution.

Solomon Urdoms Dino of Management Sciences emerged as the Social Director with 20 votes defeating his counterpart Adamu Ismail Abdullahi of Faculty of Sciences who acquired 8 votes.

Aisha Adamu Dawud of Basic Medical Sciences with 23 votes emerged as the Welfare Director defeating Hadiza Idris Saidu of Faculty of Arts who has 5 votes.

READ:   University of Maiduguri Online Screening Commences

Kanal Joseph also of Basic Medical Sciences who was the only one who aspired as the Sports Director won the seat with the whole 28 votes.

Shuaibu Umar of the Faculty of Dentistry closely defeated his counterpart Hadiza Tahir Shettima of Faculty of Management Sciences with 15 votes to 13 to emerge as the Sales Director

Habiba Kaumi of Faculty of Agriculture emerged as the PRO 2 of the Union with 27 votes being the only one who contested for the position.

Abubakar Abdullahi Mamu of Allied Health Sciences emerged as the PRO 1 with 19 votes defeating Sani Muhammed Tata(Baba Buhari) of Faculty of Education with 9 votes.

Bello Mamman Ali of Social Sciences who in the first round had a tier with his counterpart Abba Ali Bala of Veterinary Medicine emerged as the Financial Secretary in the second round with 15 to 13 votes.


Falmata Alhaji Abba of Engineering emerged as Treasurer defeating Amina Sale Shehu of Faculty of Sciences with 15 votes to 13 in the second round after having a tier in the first round.

Zainab Abdullahi Muhammed of Social Sciences with 15 votes won the seat of the Assistant Secretary General by defeating Hadiza Tahir Shettima of Faculty of Management Sciences with 1 vote and Amina Sale Shehu of Faculty of Sciences who lose to Falmata Ahaji Abba as the Treasurer.

Usman M. Aliyu of Faculty of Agriculture aspired as the Secretary General alongside Salisu Ali Dawa of Engineering and won with the former having 25 votes and the latter 3 votes.

Huraira S Garba of Allied Health Sciences with 11 votes emerged as the Vice President defeating Obansa Ummul Hani of Veterinary Medicine with 9 votes and Gloria Stephinne John of Faculty of Education with 8 votes.

READ:   ´╗┐DOCTORS' STRIKE: 200 Level Student Dies

Abdulrahman Zanna Sunoma of the Faculty of Law with 11 votes defeated Danbuba Umar Muhammed of the College of Medical Sciences with 10 votes, Aminu Muhammed Umar (Comr Agyarota) of the Faculty of Arts with 2 votes and Mustapha Abba Gana of the Faculty of Pharmacy with 5 votes to emerge as the President.

The Dean Students Affairs, Professor Maina Gimba in an interview after the election advised those that didn’t win to cooperate with those that won.

The Dean says he hopes for a peaceful cooperation between the elected representatives and the Student Affairs Division.

The president elect Abdulrahman Zanna Sunoma when also interviewed promised to build relationship between the students and the management of the school. He as well promised to tackle issues of security on campus and issues relating to hostel among others.

Emmanuel Ndubueze

A telecompreneur and ambassador of good governance.
Notify of